Isle of Wight Golf Union Championships 2024

Bookings for the  Isle of Wight Golf Union Championships at Shanklin and Sandown Golf Club are now open.

Friday 26th July Brabazon Trophy (Stableford) £5 to enter the competition and an extra £10 for non-Shanklin and Sandown members. You can book in your groups from noon through Club V 1.

Saturday 27th July IW Golf Union Championships. £10 for non-Shanklin and Sandown members. Participants who have entered the 36-hole Handicap, the best nett 18-hole score will go towards the 18-hole Handicap or Vets (Over 55) results if entered in these two competitions.

36-hole Scratch   (£5 entry)

36 Hole Handicap (£5 entry)

18-hole Handicap (£5 entry)

Vets Over 55 Handicap (£5 entry)

Sunday 28th July 2024

8:30 – 9:00    Semi-Final Playoffs

13:00               Final


Please use Club V 1 to enter the competition or inform me directly. If you're only playing 18 holes, please let me know. Otherwise, you'll be automatically included in the 36-hole draw in handicap order for Morning and Afternoon.

If there is anything else, please contact me at 07929782513 /

Summer Meeting held at Freshwater Golf Club. Congratulations to Connor Knight (Shanklin) for winning the Scratch event with a Gross 69  and Nigel Claxton (Ryde) for doing the double on winning the Handicap and Vets with a Nett 67.

Thank you to all at Freshwater Golf Club for their hospitality and assistance to the IW Golf Union and Tony Keen for starting in windy conditions.

All results are below, and finally, well done to Ian Couse for achieving a Hole in One on the drop hole 14th hole.

At the Isle of Wight Golf Union event, Glyn Jones played today at Osborne Golf Club.

Congratulations to Chris Hayward (Osborne) for the Scratch event with a Gross 71 over Nat Riddett (Shanklin) and Danny Holmes (Freshwater) on countback.

The winner of the Division 1 Handicap was Tom McInnes 63 Nett (Ryde),2nd Neil Hallett 68 nett(Shanklin) and 3rd Matthew Leek 68 (Cowes)  Division 2 Ian Couse (Westridge) with a nett 63 ,(Westridge),2nd place Justin McDonald(Westridge) nett 64 and 3rd place Dan Thomas nett 69 (Westridge).

The Vets won by Neil Hallett (Shanklin) 68 nett, second Dan Thomas (Westridge) 69 nett and third Steve Rowley 69 Nett.

I want to thank Osborne Golf Club for its hospitality and for allowing the Isle of Wight Golf Union to host the Glyn Jones event. Special thanks and mention to Chris Tyson, Angus Robertson, and Chris Hayward for their help in making the event run smoothly.

Adie Adams (IWGU President) 

                    with the Harry Gordon trophies  Scratch and Vets Champion George Foreman.

Harry Gordon Trophy played on Sunday, 21st April 2024, at Shanklin and Sandown Golf Club.

Congratulations to George Foreman for winning the Scratch and Vets (Over 55) competitions and Mitch Young for winning the Handicap event.

I would first like to thank Shanklin and Sandown Golf Club for hosting the event and welcoming the Isle of Wight Golf Union, especially the members. Thank you to George Foreman and Adie Adams for starting the competition and Nat Riddett for collecting the entry fees.

Next event Glyn Jones at Osborne Golf Club on Sunday 19th May 2024 entries are now open.

Congratulations to Dan Mew for winning the Isle of Wight Golf Union Championships 2023 Scratch and McMasters Trophy.

David Williams won the first IWGU Championships event on Friday, the Brabazon Trophy.

On Saturday, 36 Hole Scratch won by Dan Mew,

                       36 Hole Handicap won by Conor White

                       18 Hole, won by  David Williams

                        Vets (Over 55)    Clive Beard

On Sunday, in the Semi-final playoffs, Dan Mew beat Conor White on the 14th hole, and George Foreman beat Richie Harrison on the 18th.

Dan Mew beat George Foreman in the final 6 and 5.


All results are attached or below, and finally, thank you to Kevin Garrett for running the IW Golf Union Championships.

Winner of the Summer Meeting Scratch Trophy

                Nat Riddett 

Winner of the Summer Meeting Handicap Division 2 Trophy

              Lewis Chambers 

IWGU Summer Meeting held at Newport Golf Club 

Well done to Nat Ridettt 71 gross for gaining the Summer Scratch trophy 

Division 1 and Vets (over 55s) won by Thomas Wilson with 36 points.

Division 2 was won by up-and-coming star Lewis Chambers with 36 points.

I like to thank Newport Golf Club for making the Isle of Wight Golf Union very welcome by the members and staff and special thanks to Club Captain John Twilley and ever-reliant Keith Fryer.

All ranking points are on the website.

Finally, I would like all players to support our players in the Island Games in Jersey. Good luck to George Foreman (Island Games manager), Dawn Hodges, Catherine Bachelor, Sophie Beardsall, Chris Hayward, Darren Masterton, Ben Guy and finally and not least Nat Riddett.

James Cheek Scratch Winner 

18 Hole Stableford

Open to all male Island Club golfers with a Handicap.

The draw will be in handicap order to encourage different club members to play with the players of the same ability. 

You can enter for £5 per event Scratch, Handicap, Vets (over 55).

We also have Leagues for players to contend in Scratch (Island Games Qualifier), Handicap, Vets (Over 55) and Juniors.

The draw will be on Tuesday, 16th May 2023.

If you cannot enter Club v 1, please get in touch with Bob Singh-Bansi at / 07929782513.

If you are new IWGU events, when contacting Bob, please provide your email address and WHS number if possible.

Glyn Jones Trophy Results, Congratulations to all the winners, and I like to thank Osborne Golf Club, especially Chris Tyson, Trish and Jennette for there assistance and hospitality. 

Harry Gordon Trophy Results 

Congratulations to Joseph Green for winning the Scratch prize. The handicap event is divided into two divisions.  For full results click Club V 1 below.            


1 Joseph Green 70

2 Derek Wright 72

3 Campbell Laird 73


                                                                                 Gross              Handicap   Nett

   Division 1

1  Campbell Laird                                                    73                         6               67

2 Warwick Wolton                                                  81                        14               67

3  Joseph Green                                                      70                        2                68

   Division 2

1  Lewis Chambers                                                  89                      29               60

2  Rob Jones                                                             96                      23               73

3 Eddie Rogers                                                        90                      16                74

 Vets (Over 55)

1   Keith Wright                                                        75                        6                69

2  Fred Cooper                                                         82                       13               69  3  Brian Wright                                                        81                        9                72


1    Lewis Chambers                                               89                     29                 60

2   James Clemens                                                 80                      7                  73

3    Thomas Clemens                                             95                      16                  79

                  Nat Riddett 

           Harry Gordon Trophy

                    2022 Winner

                        Joseph Green   

      2023 Harry Gordon Trophy Scratch Winner 

                Lewis Chambers                Joseph Green   

               2023 Harry Gordon Trophy Winners